The Philippe de Woot Award Ceremony 2010


The first Inter-University Philippe de Woot Award ceremony was held on February 23, 2010 in Louvain-la-Neuve. During the ceremony, the award for the best Master thesis on Corporate Social Responsibility went to Marie Bertrand, who graduated from the Louvain School of Management (LSM). 

Marie Bertrand’s thesis, « An Exploratory Study about Corporate Governance in Social Entrepreneurship » (supervised by professor Frank Janssen, LSM), examines the governance mechanisms adopted in the social entrepreneurship sector. Although social entrepreneurship is benefitting from a growing recognition around the world, very little research has been conducted on the subject. Her research therefore aims to assess whether the various factors usually linked to the phenomenon result in different management and governance mechanisms. The thesis helps achieving a better understanding of the daily challenges and specific needs that this form of entrepreneurship brings in term of governance. Furthermore, it enables to discover how governance mechanisms can play a concrete role in the research of social innovation and social impact. The study finally shows the importance of having a good perception of the various operational issues at stake in the emergent field of social entrepreneurship if we believe those initiatives should be proliferated in the future. 


Nominees & Jury

5 master theses were submitted :

  1. The under-representation of women on corporate boards
  2. How can marketing give a sense of responsibility to consumers from an ecological point of view when they buy a car?
  3. Governance in social entrepreneurship: an exploratory study
    Corporate social responsibility:
  4. Information society and social products
  5. EnCo: study for the creation of an energy auditing and consulting company


They have been examined by the following academic jury:

  • Annick CASTIAUX – UniversitĂ© de Namur, Belgium
  • Guillaume, DE STEXHE  – FUSL, Belgium – 
  • Claire GRUSLIN –  HEC ULg, Belgium
  • Brigitte HUDLOT – ICHEC, Belgium
  • CĂ©line LOUCHE,  Vlerick Business School, Belgium
  • Etienne LOUTE – FUSL, Belgium
  • Paul MATTHYSSENS – Antwerp Management School, Belgium
  • François PICHAULT – HEC ULg, Belgium
  • ValĂ©rie SWAEN – UCLouvain, Belgium

A few memories from the first edition of Philippe de Woot Award (2010)

(c) pictures by UCLouvain

Academic partners of the 2010 Award

Are you interested in the Philippe de Woot Award?

The next edition will be organized in March 2024

Any graduate student from a university or business school with a Master’s degree whose dissertation deals
with CSR or sustainable development defended during the academic years 2021-2022 & 2022-2023 can apply for this award.